Claremont Village

The Day Trip Adventure Continues… 

        My trip to the BAPS Mandir didn’t end there. My friend Jordan and I decided to explore Claremont Village; a quaint area with great shops and amazing restaurants near  La Verne and Pomona (the area where I lived/grew up until I was about six years old).Only a twenty minute drive from Ontario, the little trip down memory lane was well worth it.

IMG_1496

Maybe I was still on a high from my enlightening trip to BAPS, but even Claremont was peaceful. The village is nestled up against the Claremont colleges and shares similarities in its blending of the old with the new. The campus buildings have architecture similar to the one above and are beaming with charm.

We easily found parking and began walking up and down the tree lined streets. We of course wanted coffee so we happily stumbled into Some Crust Bakery The bakery had two sides, one with a counter to purchase fresh baked goods like cupcakes and lemon bars, and the other side with the coffee bar. A friendly barista greeted us and made me a delicious iced mocha and Jordan an iced chai latte.

With our coffee’s-in-hand and a strong sense of exploration we headed out to see what the college town had to offer. We were both equally surprised when we found a Buddhist store and after seeing several others plus this sign in an antique store, were reassured that we had made the right choice in going to Claremont.

IMG_1498

One of my favorite stores I discovered was The Vintage Odyssey. It had a mix of vintage clothing, furniture, and home decor. I am a sucker for anything turquoise ,so that might have been what drew me in. Not to mention there was a garden that held build-your-own-garden workshops next door. It was, in my opinion, the perfect duo.

IMG_1505
IMG_1506

IMG_1508

IMG_1509

The food choices were extensive, from a Mexican Cantina, to a Greek restaurant, there were options for everyone.  One of my favorite stops along the way was Bert & Rocky’s ice cream parlor, although tempting, we saved our appetites for lunch.

After jumping around a few places we decided on Le Pain Quotidienwhich means the daily bread. The Belgium cafe had lovely open seating and a menu that was bursting with fresh ingredients. I decided on the roasted turkey and avocado tartine. A creative take on a sandwich, it had radish, cucumber, and arugula with a lemon Dijon vinaigrette.

IMG_1528

IMG_1517

Going to Claremont was a spur of the moment decision, but it turned out to be one of the most fun days I have had in a long time. I was at ease, despite the hot weather, and thoroughly enjoyed the city. Showing Jordan around helped me to see Claremont with a fresh set of eyes and made me notice all of its special quirks that make this city so dear to my heart. I suspect simply paying a visit to your hometown and bringing someone who’s never been before could spark something similar in you.

I learned how much fun there is to be had in simple day trips and the value in letting go and allowing all the adventures to find you.

-Em


Take a Visit:

The Claremont Village

112 Harvard Ave #73

Claremont CA 91711

Check the website for upcoming events:

  • Farmers and Artisans Market Every Sunday 8am-1pm
  • Art Mart Every Friday 5pm-9pm
  • (Monthly) First Saturday Art Walk 6pm-9pm
  • Village Tours and College Tours (more info on site)

 

Leave a Reply

